2014 All-Star Classic summary





Here is snapshot of the 21st Annual Inner City All-Star Classic played at Schoenecker Arena on the University of St. Thomas Campus a couple of weeks ago. The game features some of the metro area’s top graduating girls’ and boys’ basketball players.


Boys’ game

Team Wisdom — Coach: Larry McKenzie (North ) —Jeff Jones (Minneapolis Washburn), John Sabaski (Prior Lake), Andre Wallace (Eden Prairie), Wheeler Baker (Osseo), Kamali Chambers (Hopkins), Rayeon Williams (St. Paul Central), Markus Taylor Knighten (St. Paul Central / Kingdom Prep-Atlanta, GA ), Javon Jefferson (Minneapolis Henry), Jalen Patterson (St. Thomas Academy), James Lawson (DeLaSalle).

Derek Reuben MVP Reid Travis

Derek Reuben MVP Reid Travis


Team Knowledge — Coach Willie Braziel (Bloomington Kennedy) — Reid Travis (De La Salle), J.P. Macura (Lakeville North), Keenan Bellaphant (Tartan), Geno Crandall (De La Salle), Darrion Strong (Tartan / Quakerdale Prep), Louis Williams (St. Paul Johnson), Jordan Dembly (Osseo), Colton Williams (Columbia Heights), Pierre Conwell (St. Paul Johnson), D.J. Davis (Bloomington Kennedy), Ian Smith(Champlin Park).


Result — Team Knowledge defeated Team Wisdom in overtime with Stanford University-bound and McDonald All American Travis scoring 25 points, including two dunks in the extra period. Reid was the recipient of the Derek Reuben MVP trophy and the Kwame JC McDonald Academic Achievement Award.




Girls’ game

Tamara Moore MVP Tonoia Wade Photos by Mitchell Palmer McDonald

Tamara Moore MVP Tonoia Wade
Photos by Mitchell Palmer McDonald

Team Faith Coach Tylor Coley (Washburn) — Alexis Alexander (Champlin Park High), Cayla McMorris (Park Center High), Chase Coley (Washburn), Tonoia Wade (Bloomington Kennedy), Jada Jones (St. Paul Central), Daizjah Morris (Centennial), Jayla Jackson (Eden Prairie), Kaela Jones (Maple Grove), Naja Woods (Southwest), Jaelin Beachy (Staples Motley).

Team Truth Coach John Robinson (Como Park) — Tia Elbert (Tartan), Kenisha Bell (Bloomington Kennedy), Rayna Sharrow (St. Paul Central), Kaila Burroughs (St. Cloud Tech), Isy Odor (Bloomington Kennedy), Destinee Morris (Centennial).

Madison Lee (Maranatha), Ayo Porte (Osseo), Lyric Williams ( St. Paul Central), Chanel Khammarath (St. Paul Johnson / Marshall High-Chicago, Ill).

Result —Team Faith defeated Team Truth with St. John’s University-bound Wade leading the way with 21 points. Wade was the winner of the Tamara Moore MVP trophy. Elbert, who will play at Marquette University next season, was given the Kwame JC McDonald Academic Achievement Award.


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to mmcdonald@spokesman-recorder.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *