Boys’ state basketball tournament highlights


The 2012 state boys’ basketball tournament held at the Target Center last weekend will certainly be one to remember.



There were two buzzer-beaters in the Class 3A and4A title games. City Conference teams from Minneapolis and St. Paul placed second and third respectively in Class 3A. A private school power in Minneapolis reemerged as 3A champs, and a new 4A champion was crowned for the first time in three years.

ROSS BARKER’s baseline jumper as time expired propelled DeLaSalle, led by REID TRAVIS, JARVIS JOHNSON, LUKE SCOTT, TREY SHEPHERD and TYLER MOORE, to a 57-56 OT win over Minneapolis Washburn, who got outstanding play from JOSEPH DOBY, DWIGHT ANDERSON, NICK ANDERSON, JERRY PRATT, DEJON DAVIS, CHUCKIE SMITH, MYLES SHEPHERD-ANDERSON and JAMISON WHITING for the Class 3A title. 

IAN THEISEN calmly converted a short jumper at the buzzer to help teammates D.J. HEBERT, WILL JOHNSON, MICHAEL BRUSH, BRIDGE TUSLER, CAL BLOOM, BENJI SUBAH, BRYAN GICHAGBA and TYLER STROMBACK defeat Lakeville North, led by TYLER FLACK, TREY HEID, RYAN SAARELLA, BRETT RASMUSSEN, GRANT ERICKSON, JOEL OXTON and TYLER DAVID 49-47 to capture the Class 4A crown.

MARCUS MARSHALL scored 30 points and got support from teammates JALEN MOBLEY, DARIUS WATSON, QUASHINGM SMITH-PUGH, BAJUAN ADAMS, DE’VONTA DURR, SHELBY ASHFORD, ROBERT CHATTARD and JALEN ALBRITTON to lead St. Paul Johnson to a 75-63 Class 3A third place win over Grand Rapids, who got outstanding performances from AUSTIN PHOLEN and ALEX ILLIKAINEN.


SIYANI CHAMBERS led the way with 34 points, and teammates DEMETRIUS MARTIN, NICK JORGENSON, JAMAL DAVIS, JACOB WRIGHT, KAMALI CHAMBERS and STEPHEN SHARPE helped Hopkins to a 77-65 Class 4A third-place victory over Eden Prairie, who were paced by SANDER MOHN, ABRIAN CARPENTER, JORDAN PETERSON, ANDRE WALLACE and GRANT SHAEFFER.


Itwas quite a state tournament.


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to