The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder recently celebrated 80 years of publishing and serving the community!

The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is the Black-owned business in the state of Minnesota. Established in August 1934 by Cecil E. Newman, the Spokesman-Recorder today remains a family-run newspaper company that is African American and woman-owned, led by CEO/Publisher, Tracey Williams-Dillard, granddaughter to Mr. Newman.

The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is a newspaper committed to meeting the news and information needs of African Americans. The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is a strong institution with deep roots in the Minneapolis and St. Paul communities and has played a major role in events such as:

* Juneteenth
* Rondo Days
* UNCF Walk-A-Thon
* MEDA Annual Gala
* Northrop Auditorium’s presentation of the Dance Theatre of Harlem
* Minnesota Twins African American Heritage Celebration
* Minneapolis Urban League Family Day
* The Gathering


• The MSR hits the newsstands every Wednesday and mailboxes every Thursday
• The MSR has an estimated 40,000 weekly readers and over 10,000 e-Subscribers
• The MSR is a cultural and respectful link between African Americans and their community.


Amalgamated Publishers, Inc.
Metropolitan Economic Development Association
Minnesota Minority Media Coalition
Minnesota Newspaper Association
National Newspapers Publishers Association

MSR Staff

Tracey Williams-Dillard – CEO/Publisher: twilliams@spokesman-recorder.com

Vickie Evans-Nash – Chief Managing Editor: vnash@spokesman-recorder.com

Jerry Freeman -Senior Editor: jfreeman@spokesman-recorder.com

Paige Elliott – Online/Entertainment Editor: pelliott@spokesman-recorder.com

Bob Keller – Desktop Publisher: bkeller@spokesman-recorder.com

Jennifer Johnson – Front Desk: admin@spokesman-recorder.com

Laura Poehlman – Independent Contractor – Desktop Publisher: sisterspokesman@spokesman-recorder.com


Spokesman-Recorder 501c3 Staff

Tracey Williams-Dillard – Executive Director: twilliams@spokesman-recorder.com

Tommy Clark – Distribution Coordinator: tclark@spokesman-recorder.com