About

The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder celebrates publishing and serving the community since 1934!

The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is the oldest minority owned business in the state of Minnesota. Established in August 1934 by Cecil E. Newman, the Spokesman-Recorder today remains a family-run newspaper company that is African American and woman-owned, led by CEO/Publisher, Tracey Williams-Dillard, granddaughter to Mr. Newman. The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is a newspaper committed to meeting the news and information needs of African Americans. The Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder is a strong institution with deep roots in the Minneapolis and St. Paul communities and has played a major role in events such as:

* Juneteenth
* Rondo Days
* UNCF Walk-A-Thon
* MEDA Annual Gala
* Northrop Auditorium’s presentation of the Dance Theatre of Harlem
* Minnesota Twins African American Heritage Celebration
* Minneapolis Urban League Family Day
* The Gathering

Facts

• The MSR hits the newsstands every Wednesday and mailboxes every Thursday
• The MSR has an estimated 40,000 weekly readers and over 10,000 e-Subscribers
• The MSR is a cultural and respectful link between African-Americans and their community.

Membership

Amalgamated Publishers, Inc.
Metropolitan Economic Development Association
Minnesota Minority Media Coalition
Minnesota Newspaper Association
National Newspapers Publishers Association

MSR Staff

Tracey Williams-Dillard, CEO/Publisher: twilliams@spokesman-recorder.com

Vicki Evans-Nash, Chief Managing Editor: vnash@spokesman-recorder.com

Jerry Freeman, Senior Editor: jfreeman@spokesman-recorder.com

Chris Harrison – Desktop Publishers: charrison@spokesman-recorder.com

Raymond Boyd, Advertising: rboyd@spokesman-recorder.com

Angela Harmon, Business Development: aharmon@spokesman-recorder.com

Spokesman-Recorder 501c3 Staff

Tracey Williams-Dillard, Executive Director: twilliams@spokesman-recorder.com

Laura Poelman, Event Coordinator: sisterspokesman@spokesman-recorder.com

Tommy Clark, Videographer: tclark@spokesman-recorder.com