State tournament highlights



Wow! What a state tournament. So much that could be written, but only so much space to fill — two three-peats, a historic moment for a coach, another coach leaving the game, and some outstanding prep careers coming to a close.

Here are some highlights from the tournament.



FAITH JOHNSON-PATTERSON(DeLaSalle) became the first in state history to coach two different schools to three-peats. Before leading the Islanders to Class 3A championships in 2011, ’12 and ’13, the former Marshall University High School and University of Wisconsin standout led Minneapolis North to titles from 2005-07.

TYRAI ROSS and DARIA FRAZIER, who were teammates during the North three-peat, were on the bench assisting Johnson-Patterson during DeLaSalle’s championship win over Red Wing.

ALLINA STARR and TYSEANNA JOHNSON, headed to Auburn and Iowa State respectively, led DeLaSalle to their third consecutive state Class 3A championship. They played in five state tournaments together — one at Minneapolis North as eighth graders, and four for the Islanders.

PATIENCE GRIFFIN, a sophomore for DeLaSalle, was named to the all-tournament team.

JESSICA JANUARY, who will attend DePaul next year, and junior KYLA ADAMS led Richfield to a third-place finish in Class 3A while earning all-tournament honors.


CLASS 4A    

NIA COFFEY, TAYLOR ANDERSON, and ERIN O’TOOLE were all-tournament in leading Hopkins to their third consecutive Class 4A crown by defeating Bloomington Kennedy. Coffey, a McDonald’s All-American, is headed to Northwestern. Anderson will attend Connecticut on a track scholarship. O’Toole is headed for the University of North Dakota.

JADE MARTIN, a Georgetown signee, her sister and eighth-grader JASMYN MARTIN, and junior KENISHA BELL made the Class 4A all-tournament team for Bloomington Kennedy.

PHILLIS WEBB and JANAY MORTON, both headed to Eastern Michigan, were named to the Class 4A all-tournament team after leading Osseo to a fourth place finish.

WILLIE TAYLOR (St. Paul Central), who coached the Minutemen to two Class 4A state titles in 2007 and 2008, coached his last game in the state tournament last week. Taylor, who himself led Duluth Central to the state tournament in 1977, also coached Central to state tournament appearances in 2001, ’05 and ’06.



CHASE COLEY and NATALIE HOLDAHL were named to the all-tournament Class 2A team after leading Minneapolis Washburn to the state tournament for the first time since 1984. The Millers finished fourth.


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to 

Photos by Mitchell Palmer McDonald

  [nggallery id=28]