Rosters set for this year’s All-Star Classic


PrepScenesquareThe 20th Annual Inner City All-Star Classic rosters are set. The event, to be held Sunday, June 16 at Schoenecker Arena on the campus of the University of St. Thomas, features some of the top local graduating boys’ and girls’ basketball players in the metro area.


Girls’ Rosters (tip-off at 3 pm)

Team Faith, coached by FAITH JOHNSON-PATTERSON (DeLaSalle): CHANEL SCOTT (St. Paul Johnson); TAYLOR CUNNINGHAM (St. Paul Johnson); MIRIAH CARRUTH (St. Paul Johnson); ALEXIS LOCKETT (Simley); TYNEKA CAGE (Minneapolis Roosevelt); ALLINA STARR (DeLaSalle); TYSEANNA JOHNSON (DeLaSalle); CLAIRE THOMAS (DeLaSalle); ANGEL WILLIAMS (Minnesota Transitions); SADE CHATMAN (St. Paul Central); and TAMERA CURTIS (St. Paul Central).

Team Truth, coached by JOHN ROBINSON (St. Paul Como Park): LELA HORNE (St. Paul Como Park); TAYLOR ANDERSON (Hopkins); PHILLIS WEBB (Osseo); TYRA JOHNSON (Eastview); LA SHAY HOLT (St. Paul Humboldt); JANAY MORTON (Osseo); LOLA HORNE (St. Paul Como Park); CHELSEY MCGEE (Robbinsdale Cooper); TALAYIAH RICH (Robbinsdale Cooper); DANIELLE HERNANDEZ (St. Paul Humboldt); and LASHONDRA CURTIS (St. Paul Central).

Boys’ Rosters (tip-off at 5 pm)

Team Wisdom, coached by BRODRICK POWELL (Park Center): DEVIN BUCKLEY (Park Center); KASHIF HAYES (St. Louis Park); GARRISON GILLARD (Maranatha); JUMAH’RI TURNER (Bloomington Kennedy); KAHARRI CARTER (Minnehaha Academy); KYLE WASHINGTON (Brewster Prep); NUNI OMOT (Mahtomedi); QUINTON HOOKER (Park Center); TREYTON DANIELS (Park Center); KEBU JOHNSON (Blake); and JAMAL DAVIS (Hopkins).

Team Knowledge, coached by ROBERT MESTAS (Minneapolis Roosevelt); XAVIER HALL (Tartan); HARRY SONIE (Apple Valley); BRIDGE TUSLER (Osseo); DEMETRIUS CADY (Minneapolis Southwest); DESHAWN JONES (Richfield); DION BRADLEY (St. Paul Highland Park); CULLEN RUSSO (Southern Tech Academy); RENARD SUGGS (Woodbury); DIALLO POWELL (Woodbury); BLAINE CRAWFORD (Blake); and QUASHINGM SMITH-PUGH (St. Paul Johnson).


All-Star Classic alumni

Past players include KHALID EL-AMIN (Minneapolis North, 1997), TAMARA MOORE (Minneapolis North, 1998), MAURI HOTON (Minneapolis North, 1999), TROY BELL (Holy Angels, 1999), KRIS HUMPHRIES (Hopkins, 2003), ALAN ANDERSON (DeLaSalle, 2001), ROYCE WHITE (Hopkins, 2009) and TAYLER HILL (Minneapolis South, 2009).


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to