Minneapolis Edison takes second in Class A Track

Prep sceneSisters Jia and Jada Lewis dominated the Class A girls’ finals in leading Minneapolis Edison to a second-place finish in the state track meet at Hamline University last Saturday afternoon.

Edison, who won last year’s meet with the Lewis sisters sprinting to victory, served notice that their success in 2014 was no fluke.

Jia Lewis successfully defended her title in the 100 meter dash in 12.49 seconds with Jada Lewis placing second with a time of 12.50. Jada Lewis captured first-place honors by winning the 200 meter dash at 25.39 seconds.

Minneapolis Edison's girls' track team
Minneapolis Edison’s girls’ track team

The 4×100 relay of Linda Senephanh, Jada Lewis, Mariana Cress and Jia Lewis also won with a time of 49.07 seconds.

Hammick, Jackson capture Winfield Awards

At the Crowne Plaza Hotel the next evening, Madisyn Hammick (Highland Park) and Maxwell Jackson (Cretin Derham Hall) were named the top winners of the Winfield Awards.

Hammick was an all-conference diver, gymnast and track and field performer who will attend the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Jackson was a three-sport athlete, playing football, hockey and baseball, who plans to attend St. John’s University.

The other finalists for the Winfield Awards, which have honored the top student athletes in St. Paul since 1977, were Ashenafi Hatte (St. Paul Washington); Elizabeth Garcia Creighton (St. Agnes); Emma May (Cretin-Derham Hall); Garrett Gardner (Central); Haley Greene (St. Paul Humboldt); Ismael Kamara (St. Paul Harding); Malik Johnson (St. Agnes); and Lauryn Smith (St. Paul Johnson).

Trent Tucker, former University of Minnesota and NBA player and currently the athletic director for the Minneapolis Public Schools, was the keynote speaker.

Frances Goodlow was the recipient of the Arline Winfield Mother Award, which is named in honor of Baseball Hall-of-Famer Dave and Steve Winfield’s mother, who passed away in 1988.


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to mmcdonald@spokesman-recorder.com.