St. Paul City Conference boys’ basketball roundup


Prep sceneIt was quite the season in the St. Paul City Conference. Here is how the teams finished and the players who contributed.



The teams

Central (10-2) — Captured a share of the St. Paul City Conference title for the first time since 2008. The Minutemen were led by guards Sam Gubbrud, Jon Gubbrud and Jamal Galato along with forward Abdikalak Muse.

Johnson (10-2) — The Governors, who have won or shared the crown since 2004, extended their streak to 13 years behind the outstanding play of seniors Carlin Clarke, Derek Siedschlag and Andre Smith and sophomore Lorenzo Smith.

Highland Park (8-4) — The Scots placed third with guards Michael Cornelious, Khari Dennis and Amitri Collins-Westlund and forward Dreem Kelly-Jabbar.

Washington (5-7) — Curtis Bell, James Boua-Taylor and Devin Christian helped the Eagles to their best conference showing in their brief history.

Como Park (5-7) — Demetrice Mitchell, Thomas Fritts and Jason Jett led the Cougars to a respectable conference finish.

Harding (4-8) — The Knights were competitive with Essa Adam, Benjamin Thompson and freshman Jovan Christian leading the way.

Humboldt (0-12)The Hawks, who played some tough games this season, were led by Kionta Franklin and Jacob Andrews.

Fab Five conference players (all seniors)

Sam Gubbrud (Central) — The silky smooth guard was unstoppable and the conference’s best player.

Carlin Clarke (Johnson) — The shooting guard really came into his own leading the Governors in scoring.

Demetrice Mitchell (Como Park) — The senior was one of the best players you never heard of.

Khari Dennis (Highland Park) — There was no one better in the clutch this season.

Mike Cornelius (Highland Park) — Super quick guard had some impressive performances.

Top player

Sam Gubbrud (Central) — The senior did it all — shoot, score, pass, defend, block shots and provide leadership.

Top underclassman

Lorenzo Smith (Johnson) — The sophomore guard surprised everyone with his outside shooting and poise.

Top coaches

Scott Howell (Central) — Led the Minutemen to their first City Crown since 2008 and will coach in the MBCA All Star Series featuring the state’s top seniors.

Vern Simmons (St. Paul) — Since 2004, the Governors have won or shared the City Conference title. The streak reached 13 this year.

Conference coaches

Central — Howell; Como Park — John Robinson; Harding — Dean Keenan; Highland Park — John DePerry; Humboldt — Augie Garcia; Johnson — Simmons; Washington — Anthony Harris.


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to