A historical prep sports countdown


Prep scene10 — Number of girls’ basketball state tournament appearances by Minneapolis North under Head Coach Faith Johnson-Patterson: The former Marshall University High School and University of Wisconsin star led the Polars to five championships in 1998-99 and 2003-05 with additional appearances in 1997, 2000-02 and 2009.

9 — Number of boys’ basketball state tournament appearances under Head Coach Vern Simmons: The former Morningside College (Iowa) star and recently retired police officer led the Governors to winning it all in 2010 while also participating in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009-13 and 2015.

8 — Number of state championships for DeLaSalle boys’ basketball coached by Dave Thorson: The former University of Minnesota men’s basketball assistant led the Islanders to titles in 1998, 1999, 2006 and 2012-16.

7 — Number of St. Paul City Conference football championships won by Central under Coach Scott Howell: The former baseball and football standout led his alma mater to titles from 2008-2014.

6 — Number of Mr. Basketball winners from Hopkins: Kris Humphries (2003), Blake Hoffarber (2007), Royce White (2009), Joe Coleman (2010), Siyani Chambers (2012) and Amir Coffey (2016).

5 — Number of boys’ basketball championship teams coached by Larry Mackenzie: The hall of fame coach captured championships at Minneapolis Henry from 2000-2003 and at North in 2016.

4 — Number of Mr. Basketball winners from Minneapolis North: Redd Overton (1981), Brett McNeal (1985), Derek Reuben (1988) and Khalid El-Amin (1997).

3 — Number of state championships for Minneapolis North during the 1990s: Coach Robin Ingram led the Polars to titles from 1995-97 with by El-Amin, Jabbar Washington and Ozzie Lockhart.

2 — Number of Ms. Basketball winners from Minneapolis North: Tamara Moore (1998) and Mauri Horton (1999).

1 — Number of Mr. Basketball recipients from Minneapolis Roosevelt: Robert Mestas (1995).


Mitchell Palmer McDonald welcomes reader responses to mmcdonald@spokesman-recorder.com.