Wright IV, Hill, and John lead Champlin Park

McKinley Wright IV Mitch McDonald/MSR News

Guards McKinley Wright IV, Marcus Hill and forward Theo John led Champlin Park to a runner-up finish in the Class 4A state boys basketball tournament last weekend losing the title game to Apple Valley 60-54.

Hill, a shooting guard, led the way with 15 points, floor leader Wright IV had 14 points and John added 12.

The championship game was a Deja vu of sorts.

In 2015 Champlin Park was undefeated and the top seed in the tournament. The Rebels were undefeated and the top seed this season.

In 2015 Champlin Park had the Metro Player of the Year in J.T. Gibson, now playing at the University of Nebraska-Omaha. Wright IV was named Metro Player of the Year before the tournament a couple of weeks ago.

In 2015 Gibson was named Mr. Basketball after the tournament. Wright IV won the award this past week after averaging 23.1 points per game, eight rebounds and 7.3 assists leading the Rebels to a 31-1 record.

In 2015 they lost to Apple Valley in the Class 4A championship game.

McKinley IV, a University of Dayton commit and John, a Marquette University commit, started in the championship game against Apple Valley in 2015 as sophomores.

Wright IV, John, and Hill each were named to the all-tournament team.


Mitch McDonald welcomes reader comments to mcdeezy05@gmail.com.