Midterm elections 2018 – voter information


This year’s midterm elections are proving to be a competitive hotbed for candidates across the country. Many seats are up for grabs that will shape Minnesota’s political and legislative landscape, including governor and attorney general, along with control of Congress. While most of the election drama has been focused on state and federal races, county and city races have no shortage of interesting candidates and issues ranging from commissioner and judge to school board and referendums.

The race is on for more than candidates. After a record-breaking turnout during the Minnesota primaries, early voting has already surpassed the 2016 presidential elections and shows no signs of slowing down.

Voters are ready for change. Which way the tide rolls depends on who hits the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 6.


Election Day is Tuesday, November 6, but Minnesota voters can vote before then. The early voting period runs from Friday, September 21 to Monday, November 5, but dates and hours may vary based on where you live. You can look up when and where to vote early at GetToThePolls.com.


Polls are open from 7 am to 8 pm. As long as you’re in line by 8 pm, you can vote, even if you do not reach the front of the line until after 8 pm.



To find your polling location, visit pollfinder.sos.state.mn.us



All Minnesota voters will have these races on their ballot:


U.S. Senator

Amy Klobuchar — DFL Incumbent, Endorsed

Jim Newberger — Republican, Endorsed

Dennis Schuller — Legal Marijuana Now

Paula M. Overby — Minnesota Green Party


U.S. Senator (Special Election)

Tina Smith — DFL Incumbent, Endorsed

Karin Housley — Republican

Sarah Wellington — Legal Marijuana Now

Jerry Trooien — Unaffiliated


Governor & Lt. Governor

Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan — DFL Endorsed

Jeff Johnson (Endorsed) and Donna Bergstrom — Republican

Chris Wright and Judith Schwartzbacker — Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis

Josh Welter and Mary O’Connor — Libertarian


Attorney General

Keith Ellison — DFL, Endorsed

Doug Wardlow — Republican, Endorsed

Noah M. Johnson — Grassroots – Legalize Cannabis


Secretary of State

Steve Simon — DFL Incumbent, Endorsed

John Howe — Republican, Endorsed

William Denney — Independence


State Auditor

Julie Blaha — DFL, Endorsed

Pam Myhra — Republican, Endorsed

Michael Ford — Legal Marijuana Now

Chris Dock — Libertarian Party


Other races that may show up on ballots, depending upon your location, include judicial seats; county, city or township offices; school, park or hospital board members; and referendums or other local ballot questions.

To view a personal sample ballot, visit myballotmn.sos.state.mn.us



Still not registered to vote? You can still register on Election Day. The two easiest ways are to bring with you to your polling place a valid Minnesota driver’s license, learner’s permit or ID, or Tribal ID with name, address, photo and signature ; or bring a Photo ID and a document with current name and address (such as a phone or electric bill).

For more details and additional registration options, visit https://www.sos.state.mn.us/elections-voting