10 more things you may not know about former Metro area prep stars

(Sophia Hantzes/MSR News) Nia Coffey
  1. The Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) was well represented with former metro area prep stars that garnered post-season honors in women’s basketball after the 2018-2019 season. Augsburg juniors Tamira McLemore (Eagan)and Arianna Jones (Osseo) were named to the All-Conference team. Junior teammate Aiza Wilson (DeLaSalle) was named Sixth Player of the Year.
  2. In 1990, senior Leonard Jones — first place in the high jump, long jump and triple jump — and junior Martez Williams — second place in the high jump, long jump, and triple jump — led Minneapolis Patrick Henry to the Class AA state track and field championship.
  3. Hamline freshman Chan’el Anderson-Manning (Cretin Derham Hall) and fellow classmate K’Lynn Lewis (St. Agnes) of St. Olaf earned Honorable Mention All-Conference and All-First-Year Team honors respectively in the MIAC. Lewis also shared First-Year Player of the Year honors.
  4. Alan Anderson (DeLaSalle), after leading Michigan State University to the NCAA Final Four in 2005 and enjoying a career overseas and in the NBA, is playing for the Triplets (coached by Naismith Hall of Famer and 12-year WNBA veteran Lisa Leslie). Anderson was the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year as a senior in 2001.
  5. Lisa Lissimore (St. Paul Central) has been an associate director for the Minnesota State High School League since 1988. Lissimore starred for the Minutemen for three years, playing on the first Class AA girls’ state championship team as a sophomore in 1976. After completing her stellar prep career in 1978 and a brief stint at the University of Minnesota, she starred at Grand View University (Iowa), graduating in 1982.
  6. Ricky Suggs (1980), Michael Dearring (1987), Juriad Hughes (1989) and Sly Johnson (1992) were all Mr. Basketball finalists during outstanding careers at St. Paul Central.
  7. Kiara Buford (St. Paul Central) led the Minutemen to back-to-back Class 4A state girls’ basketball championships in 2007 and 2008, had an outstanding four years at the University of Minnesota, and coached Robbinsdale Cooper to consecutive Class 3A state tournament appearances in 2018 (state champs) and 2019 (fourth place).
  8. Royce White (Hopkins), who in addition to leading the Royals to the 2009 Class 4A, led Class 3A DeLaSalle to a tile in 2006, is playing for the Enemies (coached by 18-year NBA veteran Rick Mahorn) in the Big3 professional 3-on-3 league. White, who starred at Iowa State, was the only NCAA player to lead his team in points, rebounds, blocks, steals, and assists during the 2011-2012 season. He was also the state’s Mr. Basketball in 2009.
  9. Former prep stars Nia Coffey (Hopkins), Rachel Banham (Lakeville North), Kenisha Bell (Bloomington Kennedy) and Tayler Hill (Minneapolis South) are all on WNBA rosters.
  10. Former University of Minnesota guard Amir Coffey (Hopkins) recently signed a two-way contract with the Los Angeles Clippers.