College football’s big prize


The 2019-20 College Football Playoff has its own Final Four that’s not quite like basketball’s Final Four, but it’s close. Those who vote on the College Football Playoff have decided on LSU, Ohio State, Clemson and Oklahoma. The dates are set.

On December 28 at 4 pm, it’s number-one Louisiana State (13-0), the SEC Champion vs. number-four Oklahoma (12-1), the Big 12 Champion, in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in Atlanta at the Mercedes Benz Stadium.

On December 28 at 8 pm, it’s number-two Ohio State (13-0), the Big Ten Champion vs. number-three Clemson (13-0), the Atlantic Coast Champion and defending National Champion in the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Arizona at State Farm Stadium.

The winners play for the College Football Playoff National Championship January 13 at 8 pm at Mercedes Benz Superdome in New Orleans. The Gophers missed the national playoff after starting 8-0 and losing two of three to Iowa 23-19 and Wisconsin 38-17.

Minnesota finished 10-2 and was rewarded with the opportunity to play on New Year’s Day for the first time since 1961 in the Outback Bowl vs. Auburn. Auburn beat Alabama in the SEC Iron Bowl.

I personally think Ohio State was caught in the middle of politics with three teams at 13-0—LSU, Ohio State, and defending champ Clemson. LSU, with Heisman Trophy favorite quarterback Joe Burrow, somehow in the final playoff poll moved from number two to number one, leaping the Buckeyes after winning the SEC title game 37-10 over Georgia.

Ohio State beat Wisconsin twice, including 34-21 in the B1G title game in Indianapolis, and slipped to number two. They will be forced to battle the mighty defending unbeaten champion Clemson in Glendale.

LSU gets to stay in Atlanta in SEC country in the Chick-fil-A-Peach Bowl vs. Oklahoma, where they clobbered Georgia. LSU beat five top-10 teams. Ohio State won 13 games by an average of 36 points.

I call the decision to make LSU the playoff number-one team a case of SEC bias. This is the first time in the five-year history of the College Football Playoff that Alabama from the SEC is not in it.