Mayor Frey to nominate Bryan Tyner to lead Minneapolis Fire Department

City of Minneapolis Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey (right) and Fire Chief-nominee Bryan Tyner meet in the mayor’s office.

Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey announced Monday that he will nominate Assistant Chief Bryan Tyner to serve as the next chief of the Minneapolis Fire Department (MFD).

Tyner has held a litany of positions in the department prior to the nomination, including battalion chief, fire captain, fire marshal, training captain, fire motor operator, and firefighter.

“A son of the Northside, Bryan Tyner has made the safety and security of Minneapolis his life’s work,” said Frey. “Bryan has seen our city at its best and helped lead the department through some of Minneapolis’ most challenging moments. He will know how to handle whatever comes across his desk. His dedication to our city is beyond reproach, and I know that he will lead this department with integrity.” 

Tyner would become the department’s second Black fire chief.

“It would be my distinct honor to serve this community as its next fire chief,” said Tyner. “I intend to lead this organization into the future with integrity, honesty, and fairness.”

Hired in 1995, Tyner has played a pivotal role in making the department’s hiring practices more inclusive. He has also spearheaded new safety programming, worked with Minneapolis Public Schools and students to create pathways to a career in the MFD, and served as the President of the Minneapolis African American Professional Firefighters Association.

Frey’s decision to nominate Tyner comes after a competitive, national search that started in August. Tyner would replace John Fruetel, who has served the department for 41 years, including as Fire Chief since 2012.

Frey will put forth Tyner’s nomination at the Executive Committee Tuesday, October 20. The nomination will head to the Public Health & Safety Committee for consideration, with an anticipated vote from the full City Council on Friday, December 4.

Info provided by The City of Minneapolis