Curfews issued for Twin Cities, Brooklyn Center and surrounding cities starting at 10 pm


Although Gov. Walz hasn’t issued a state-wide curfew for Tuesday, curfews have been issued in the cities of Minneapolis, St. Paul, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, New Hope, Robbinsdale, Maple Grove, Columbia Heights, and Crystal following civil unrest due to the Brooklyn Center police shooting of Daunte Wright on Sunday.

All the curfews start at 10 pm and end at 6 am on Wednesday, April 14, except Brooklyn Park that is from 8 pm to 6 pm.

More details about the Twin Cities’ curfews are below:

Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey issued Emergency Regulation 2021-2-2:

“The curfew includes exemptions for credentialed members of the press, law enforcement, emergency responders, those traveling to and from work or religious services, and the following community patrol organizations: A Mother’s Love, Center for Multicultural Mediation, Native American Community Development Institute (NACDI), Corcoran Neighborhood Organization and T.O.U.C.H. Outreach, Change Equals Opportunity (C.E.O.), Restoration Inc., and We Push for Peace. “

Mayor Melvin Carter issued Executive Order 2021-17:

“All law enforcement, fire, and medical personnel, and members of the news media, as well as other persons authorized by the City of Saint Paul, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Minnesota State Patrol, or Minnesota National Guard, are exempt from the curfew. Individuals traveling directly to and from work, seeking emergency care, fleeing dangerous circumstances, or experiencing homelessness are also exempt.”