Porter and Hodges named Players of the Year in St. Paul

Photos courtesy Breakdown (l-r) Julian Hodges, Ronnie Porter

Guard Ronnie Porter (Como Park) and forward Julian Hodges (Johnson) were selected as the St. Paul City Conference Players of the Year for the 2020-21 prep basketball season.

Porter, a 5’2” junior, led the Cougars to their seventh straight girls’ City Conference championship averaging 24.4 points per game. She is among the state’s top players.

Hodges, a 6’0” senior, led the Governors to a second-place finish in the boys’ conference race as the team’s leading scorer at 13 points per game.

Como Park juniors Cloey Dmytruk, Jada James and Kaylynn Asberry joined teammate Porter on the All-Conference team. Representing second-place Central was Alayjza Campbell and Anna Rynkeiwich.

Makenzy Wilson and Liliana Hobday and were selected from third-place Humboldt, BreYana Turner from fourth-place Highland Park, and Grace Davis-Chavez from fifth-place Harding, rounding out the 10-player team.

Joining Hodges on the All-Conference team were Johnson teammates Aiden McIafferty and Ismeal David. Kadin Doram, Gavin Gothard, Donnie Preston and Gedeon Musabyimana represent co-conference champ Central.

Joey Kottke, Carter Owen, Nico Peterson and Ilyass Mohamud were selected from co-champHighland Park. Malik Alabi, Xavier Garcia and Brian Williams of fourth-place Humboldt were also named.

Alexander Addai and Salman Ahmed ofHarding, Amir Plair and Donnavon Clinton of Como Park, and Tyquan Allen of Washingtonround out the 19-member team.

Deb Williams (Highland Park) was selected as girls’ basketball Coach of the Year. Jesse McCann (Highland Park) was selected boys’ Coach of the Year.